In search of the Edgefield Obelisk

A new Postcard from The Dark Peak

A new diary entry on hellsborough.com is coming soon:

We were heading for the Edgefield Obelisk, a construction on the other side of Ugg Hill Height, to the side of the Damflask. I had to walk along almost the full length of the Loxley river from before the confluence of it and the Rivelin, along it banks for several thousands of paces. The adventure begins after you cross the Rowel bridge -- where that huge bunker is, and head along the long and lonely lane. This time, as I approached the lake alongside the ruins of enterprises long forgotten, the murk smelled vile, like something had died, and in the near distance, I could hear strange noises: laughs and howls, screams and an awful strained lowing -- sounds that made me think of strangulation and other heinous things. I worried past with Shad at my side, I'm not even sure that he was comfortable with that cacophony.

Previously I have reported along this route that I had been shouted at by automated devices that must be something to do with the fungai / organic network, but today they were silent -- but then there were no moldenke about today, it being a weekday and not a Spand'y as it had been last time I visited. I recorded some images on my psycmask on the way through though, for future reference.

From there, it is still quite a hike to the obelisk -- originally constructed in 1832 in memory of a child who drowned in the roadside spring that now runs beneath it. It is an impressive building, sat out there all alone, an isolated but majestic monolith emerging from the murk like a needle of vengeance.

The Edgefield Obelisk

This piece was written by me. I experimented with using ChapGPT, but honestly, it just doesn’t cut it — the prose is over the top and kind of embarrassing in its verbosity — so I went with my my own words.

In Other News… Van Hallam’s Hellsborough Chronicles book one is now complete, and final edits are in progress. If you would like to proof read a copy of an ebook in Kindle or ePub formats, then please reply to this email and I’ll send a copy over for you to get your teeth into. I’m still intending having it published in multiple formats, both electronic and paperback, by the end of October.

Cheers, until next time,

Pip :)